Welcome to Manchester Confidential
Reset Password
The Confidential websites will be undergoing routine updates. This may cause the sites to go offline. We apologise in advance for any inconvenience.

You are here: Manchester ConfidentialSport & Gaming.

North West Football Awards 2013

Who is your player of the year?

Written by . Published on August 15th 2013.

North West Football Awards 2013

TO coincide with this weekend's kick-off to the new Premier League season, voting is now open for the public to decide which football players they want to see pick up silverware at the North West Football Awards 2013.

The annual awards will be held at Lancashire Cricket Club's, The Point conference centre this autumn.

Liverpool's Martin Skrtel scooped the accolade for the Player of the Year at last year's Awards while divisional winners included: Alex Baptiste (Championship) and Nick Powell (League Two).

Skrtel - last year's North West Football Awards winnerSkrtel - last year's North West Football Awards winner

So will the Anfield star be succeeded by Carrick - so instrumental in Manchester United's 20th top flight title winning campaign? Or perhaps it will be Baines, a reported target for the champions who enjoyed an outstanding season? His highlights included a first senior international goal for England, voted into the PFA Team of the Year and winning Everton fans' player of the season and players' player of the season awards.   

City and Liverpool fans would surely prefer to see wins for Pablo Zabaleta or Kop legend, Jamie Carragher?

The judging panel includes: Gordon Taylor, chairman of the Professional Footballers' Association, former chief executive of the Football Association, Mark Palios, and Paul Thorogood, chief executive of the Football Foundation.

To vote and also see the full list of Player and Rising Star nominations visit:www.northwestfootballawards.com/voting2013

The following have been nominated for player of the season:

- Accrington Stanley (Lee Molyneux)

- Altrincham (Duncan Watmore)

- Barrow-in-Furness (Danny Hurst)

- Blackburn Rovers (Jordan Rhodes)

- Blackpool (Alex Baptiste)

- Bolton Wanderers (Jay Spearing)

- Burnley (Charlie Austin)

- Bury (David Worrall)

- Carlisle United (Matthew Robson)

- Chester City (George Horan)

- Crewe Alexandra (Luke Murphy)

- Droylsden (Rob Sissons)

- Everton (Leighton Baines)

- Hyde United (Luke Ashworth)

- Liverpool (Jamie Carragher)

- Macclesfield Town (Peter Winn)

- Manchester City (Pablo Zabaleta)

- Manchester United (Michael Carrick)

- Morecambe (Jack Redshaw)

- Oldham Athletic (Jose Baxter)

- Preston North End (John Welsh)

- Rochdale (Jason Kennedy)

- Southport (Shaun Whalley)

- Stockport County (Jordan Fagbola)

- Tranmere Rovers (Zoumana Bakayogo)

- Vauxhall Motors (Tom Hannigan)

- Wigan Athletic (Shaun Maloney).

The top three most voted for player from each category (Barclays Premier League, Championship, Npower League One, Npower League Two, Conference) will be shortlisted and the winner chosen by the judging panel. Voting closes on Friday 4 October, 2013.

North West Football Awards 2013North West Football Awards 2013

For more information visit www.northwestfootballawards.com

Like what you see? Enter your email to sign up for our newsletters which are chock-a-block with more great reviews, news, deals and savings.

To post this comment, you need to login.Please complete your login information.
Or you can login using Facebook.

Latest Rants


A great idea, best of luck to them

 Read more

It's all well and good, but have you read the list of exclusions for the Extreme Sledging! I'm…

 Read more

Why is there a big red dildo on the last picture?

 Read more
Swiss James

Why would it need to be?

 Read more

Explore The Site

© Mark Garner t/a Confidential Direct 2021

Privacy | Careers | Website by: Planet Code | SEO by The eWord