Welcome to Manchester Confidential
Reset Password
The Confidential websites will be undergoing routine updates. This may cause the sites to go offline. We apologise in advance for any inconvenience.

You are here: Manchester ConfidentialFood & DrinkItalian.

Pertutti Reviewed

Jonathan Schofield gets his just 'deserts' in Castlefield

Written by . Published on January 13th 2012.


Pertutti Reviewed

PERTUTTI occupies one of those could-be-anywhere-on-the-fringe-of-the- city, orange brick buildings on Liverpool Road. The building is so anonymous you only realise it's there if you look really hard, otherwise it's a smudge of architectural nothing with a bit of faux Georgian detailing. 

Perhaps it should just call itself a pizzeria so people don't get the wrong impression: Pizzeria Pertutti would work.

Inside, the Pertutti management has created a white and black space with the odd splash of colour. It feels like a restaurant for bobbing in and out of, not for lingering, with something akin to the original Pizza Express design in Manchester on King Street South. 

Pertutti 016

Pertutti 010
The menu reflects this. There's pizza and pasta, and pasta and pizza and some specials of pasta. Was there a salad or two? Probably. There are a few desserts but not many and thus the title of that section on the menu, 'Deserts' seems accurate. 

The most expensive dishes are the speciality pizzas that are priced in the mid-teens of pound sterling - there are also your more trad ones for around £7-£10. 

We had the fantasia di mare (£16.95), a pizza of octopus, mussels, prawns, sauce, mozzarella and squid. It looked like something Vivienne Westwood might wear to Ladies Day at Ascot. 

It was good. The base was satisfyingly authentic, ie. you could have been stopping off at a corner stall in Naples to pick one up. The topping was slightly insane but worked, the seafood sang a shanty, the sauce didn't overwhelm. I wasn't sure why they'd want to do this with a pizza but the result wasn't unwelcome.

I had the 'special' which in truth was not very special at all, it's just the menu so buckles under the weight of entirely predictable food that maybe this is Pertutti's way of giving proceedings a little more distinction.

Shame then the specials consisted of more pasta and one gnocchi dish.

My spaghetti carbonara for £7.95 was a pleasant collection of pancetta and pecorino ewe's milk cheese, boosted by an egg mixed in with the pasta. A very good pasta dish but not really a meal, unless you're in a hurry.

Pertutti 005

On the 'Desert' section we were recommended a tiramisu (£4.95). Not sure why, this was tastefree offering, almost runny, almost nothing. It may be a 'traditional' recipe, but they can fail too if constructed so you can't remember anything about the dish five minutes later, unless you've taken notes.

Pertutti 009

'Pertutti' means 'for everybody' - if my school-boy Italian is to be trusted. Attempting to have such broad appeal can mean things are bland. Pertutti should perhaps try to do some proper cooking in the kitchen, bring in some Italian regional classics, do something more punchy with meat and fish.

Otherwise it should just call itself a pizzeria so people don't get the wrong impression: Pizzeria Pertutti would work.

The wine selection reinforces the unadventurous nature of the business with a humble selection - although a very mild Verdicchio Monte Schiavo (£18.95) proved fine for a weekday lunchtime. 

Pertutti is presently a quickfire stop-off as you rush to the theatre or to meet friends. I wonder whether it suits its location. It seems a good formula for a spec in the Trafford Centre rather than this more discreet site. At present we have an anonymous building with a fairly anonymous restaurant. Sweet service though.

You can follow Jonathan Schofield on Twitter here @JonathSchofield

ALL SCORED CONFIDENTIAL REVIEWS ARE IMPARTIAL. £1000 to the reader who can prove otherwise, and dismissal for the staff member who wrote a review scored out of twenty on a freebie from the restaurant.

Pertutti, 3-11 Liverpool Road, Castlefield, City, M3 4NW. 0161 834 9741

Rating 12/20

Food: 6/10
Service: 3/5
Ambience: 3/5

Venues are rated against the best examples of their kind: fine dining against the best fine dining, cafes against the best cafes. Following on from this the scores represent: 1-5 saw your leg off and eat it, 6-9 get a DVD, 10-11 if you must, 12-13 if you’re passing,14-15 worth a trip,16-17 very good, 17-18 exceptional, 19 pure quality, 20 perfect. More than 20, we get carried away.

Like what you see? Enter your email to sign up for our newsletters which are chock-a-block with more great reviews, news, deals and savings.

22 comments so far, continue the conversation, write a comment.

JS3January 13th 2012.

Fancied trying this just before Christmas, thinking it was an Italian. Menu was a let down, didn't want a pizza, so popped across the road to Don Marco and was very impressed with the service and food.

1 Response: Reply To This...
Calum McGFebruary 20th 2012.

Don Marco is ace!

KarenJanuary 14th 2012.

Have been in to pertutti a few time food was fab ,the staff have been verg good, it's not about fillet steak and chicken it's about fantastic paster and pizzer ,worth a visit great value

Trevor KJanuary 16th 2012.

I think the review makes it clear what it's about. I've been twice it's a very limited place

Linda CookJanuary 17th 2012.

Eaten here three times......loved the food, service was excellent, portion sizes are good.......nice bar area to get a coffee or glass of the good stuff. Tried to get in on Saturday night but no vacancies ..so word is getting around about this fab new venue

1 Response: Reply To This...
Linda CookJanuary 31st 2012.

No sorry not management, just regular foodies and theatre goers. Wifey used my computer....sorry its technical and she doesnt understand!!!

WilsonlyJanuary 20th 2012.

Don Marco won't have to worry about this place opening next door.

1 Response: Reply To This...
AnonymousFebruary 8th 2012.

Don Marco doesn't need to worry as this restaurant is totally different , for one thing it offers the traditional , authentic Neapolitan pizza , which Don Marco definitely doesn't , so it just depends on what you fancy , and in my humble opinion, I think i'd prefer something that specializes in a particular authentic cuisine , than just YAFI! (yet another F*****g Italian )

AnonymousJanuary 23rd 2012.

Err...'a egg' and 'tastless offering' ? .... perhaps
'an egg' and 'a tasteless offering' .... or am I being a tad picky when a writer picks holes in 'desert' instead of 'dessert' ?!

1 Response: Reply To This...
EditorialJanuary 23rd 2012.

Hoist by our own pilchard - that's the right expression isn't it? Changed thanks

AnonymousJanuary 23rd 2012.

beg pardon...that should have read 'tasteless offering', I blame on sticky keyboard keys ;-)

AnonymousJanuary 29th 2012.

The seafood pizza is something you will easily find on a menu in any pizzeria or restaurant in Italy (where I'm from). It is actually nice to see something like that in Manchester as well, instead of the same stuff or some odd combinations that may suits more to the reviewer.

AnonymousFebruary 7th 2012.

Weird review - maybe it´s just my poor German tastebuds, but in comparison to other "Italian" restaurants in Manchester, this is by far one of the better.

To dislike the Tiramisu is an achievement. It´s definitely great.

But as I said - not an English connoisseur, just a German food lover living in Manchester. ;)

AnonymousFebruary 8th 2012.

hey everyone ,maybe you should try the pizza for yourself! visit http://www.theworldofpizza.com and check out the competition to WIN A FREE MEAL FOR 2 AT PER TUTTI! , and also you can read all about the head chef/ expert Neapolitan pizza maker, Agostino Vitiello , and his secrets to how a perfect Neapolitan pizza is done !

1 Response: Reply To This...
AnonymousFebruary 9th 2012.

Tried it - had to send the garlic bread back as it was more like a garlic-less burnt crisp, followed by calzone pizza that was more like a pocket full of air.
annonymous

Louise McGealyFebruary 13th 2012.

I ate here saturday 11th january for the first time.
What wonderful friendly staff couldnt do enough for you.
Food was prompt and gorgeous very generous portions at very reasonable prices.. Would defo go again and recommend it.

Julie GraceFebruary 17th 2012.

I went with some friends it was mid afternoon the food was lovely and the waiter was excellent, I would eat there again.

RobertoMarch 1st 2012.

I recently organised a birthday dinner and we were about 35 people. We had pizzas, pastas and desserts.
Apart from the nice and brand new venue, everything was absolutely above our expectations.

Staff: professional, kind and friendly...and highly skilled too when faced with all our requests (not easy, I guarantee!!!) delivering an excellent service.

Food: the pizza is, in my opinion, the best you can find in Manchester. The cook is a perfectionist in terms of recipes and traditional ingredients.
Pasta: some of us had a gorgeous pasta, and for the first time it was not overcooked.
Desserts: I strongly suggest tiramisu' and tortino al cioccolato which are far, far, and again far from any other you can get anywhere else in the city (and honestly also in many restaurant in Italy!).
Prize: what to say? I believe the quality you get is definitely out of the standards, and what you pay for it is more than fair...

Since then, I have been there almost every weekend.
You can be sure they deliver a good service and the ambience will make your evening really enjoyable.

PS: I am Italian leaving in Manchester three years, I tried all the Italian restaurants here, and I am very picky when it comes to Italian food.

FrancescaApril 1st 2012.

As an Italian who lives here and misses her home country food enormously I must say that at Per Tutti for the very first time since I moved over here (after many disappointing attempts elsewhere) I finally had a proper Italian pizza! And not just an Italian one, a Neapolitan style one, thin but with soft edges! Delicious!

I went to Per Tutti with about 10 Italian friends who heard of it by word of mouth (the restaurant is already a cult within all the Italians I know living over here) and we all rated the meal as "The Best Pizza Abroad" we ever had, and ended up chatting to the chef, Agostino, who turns out to actually be from Napoli!

Forget all the rest of the menu and just go for a pizza!

Jenny CollinsSeptember 20th 2012.

I ate here for the first time last night... had to be convinced to go... so glad I was (convinced) as it was fantastic, food was amazing (even my fellow diner's pasta dish was something special) service was spot on and I went home a very happy customer. I will defintely return: soon!

AgaNovember 26th 2014.

I had a really bad experience with the restaurant manager who was rude and not capable of doing his job properly. I booked a table at Per Tutti Manchester over the phone stating that I found an offer through Manchester City Card for 25% off total food bill. It was confirmed and me and my husband arrived at the restaurant and had a nice, relaxing dinner…. until we were then told that we had to pay the full price. The manager announced that they do not accept our discount card. I asked why this was not stated at the time of booking for which he replied he thought we meant a different discount card. I then tried showing him that his restaurant is indeed advertised on the Manchester City Card discount website plus we got 50% off on the same card a few months earlier. He suggested that I am lying and this must be a mistake as his till does not list this card. He then added that either way he could not do anything about it at 9pm. I carried on explaining that I do not believe that this is an excuse and that their customers should not be affected by a failure on their part. I believe they should be responsible for knowing what discounts Per Tutti offers on-line, otherwise is just a simple mis-selling. Throughout the entire conversation the restaurant manager was constantly interrupting me, all his responses were rude and he managed to get me really annoyed, which completely RUINED the evening for me and my husband. I have nothing bad to say about the food or the ambiance, but be careful when booking with Per Tutti as they do not seem to value their clients and have no understanding of what the good service is. The restaurant manager was so “good” that he definitely lost a client over the £10 discount. If you want to be treated right do not go to this restaurant as you are going to be confronted with rude, unqualified and disrespectful management.

1 Response: Reply To This...
AnonymousNovember 26th 2014.

Meh.

To post this comment, you need to login.Please complete your login information.
OR CREATE AN ACCOUNT HERE..
Or you can login using Facebook.

Latest Rants

Anonymous

It had similar, next to Puccinis, which always had fights and stabbings. So, I'm going to disagree.

 Read more
Anonymous

Swinton desperately needs a Wetherspoon

 Read more
Scholesey

I would not step foot into anywhere that promotes Yewnited.........ever! Just sayin............

 Read more
Anonymous

My thoughts exactly. That dish looks terrible.

 Read more

Explore The Site

© Mark Garner t/a Confidential Direct 2017

Privacy | Careers | Website by: Planet Code | SEO by The eWord