Welcome to Manchester Confidential
Reset Password
The Confidential websites will be undergoing routine updates. This may cause the sites to go offline. We apologise in advance for any inconvenience.

You are here: Manchester ConfidentialFood & DrinkBritish.

Annies Reviewed By Gordo

The Fat One travels back in time and finds it grim

Written by . Published on December 17th 2013.


Annies Reviewed By Gordo
 

ANNIES, the restaurant owned by the delightful Coronation Street actress Jennie McAlpine who, of course, plays Fizz on Corrie, and her remarkable Dad, Tom McAlpine, has just been placed in the top 100 restaurants in the UK. 

This food is shocking, boring, below average. It’s the kind of food you would expect at Butlins. 

Gordo hadn’t thought about this place for a while. Mainly because of one of the most surreal business meetings he’s had in all the ten years of writing and selling for Confidential. 

Gordo had walked in one afternoon, just after Annies opened, interested to see what the fuss was all about. The Corrie link meant that the traditional press had gone overboard with the launch. Walking to the bar, he asked what draft beer was on; the answer was non. Ok, what bottled beer? Fine, he’ll have one of them. Like any bloke, Gordo remained at the handsome bar to have that quiet drink.

Annies with a natty hat

Annies with a natty hat

“I’m sorry sir,” the barman says, “but you can’t stand at the bar”. 

“Ok,” replies the fat one, a bit baffled, I’ll take a stool.” 

“I’m sorry sir, but we don’t allow people to sit at the bar either, you have to sit in an armchair.” 

Gordo takes a seat, and the nice young man comes over with the beer, on a tray. It’s all a bit weird. Then Mr McAlpine comes over, introduces himself and sits down. He then explained to Gordo that he doesn’t want the type of person who stands at a bar, drinking beer in pints. Previously, he had given our editor, Jonathan Schofield, a now curious quote. 

"We want it to be like an Accrington Working Men's Club meets the Ivy."

Well, so far, it had failed on one count. Mr McAlpine went on to say that he didn’t like food critics, as they didn’t know what they were talking about. 

Gordo’s quiet drink had turned into a nightmare. He makes his excuses and leaves, Mr McAlpine paying for the beer, in a rather pointed way. 

Accrington Working Mens Club with some more natty hats

 

Accrington Working Mens Club with some more natty hats

Two months later, the PR lady from Annies calls to invite Gordo to come down to pitch for the advertising account. Walking down into the basement, a place with a distinctly home-made feel, he joins the table with the PR person and two other ladies and starts to chat. After a few minutes, Tom, comes to the table. He starts the meeting off with a fairly blunt statement. Clearly Tom was in a foul mood and he wasn’t arsed who knew. 

“Right, let me start Gordo by cutting to the chase. As I previously said, I don’t like food critics; none of them have got a clue what they write about. Furthermore, you lot only give good reviews when people advertise with you. Then you crucify the rest.”

The PR Girl’s jaw has dropped to the floor, whilst the other two ladies around the table started shuffling their feet nervously. 

Gordo was wondering what the hell he had been called in for. 

“So,” Tom carries on, “this is what my offer is. You write a great review and I may consider advertising with you.” 

Gordo said thanks but no thanks and goes to walk out. Half way up the stairs, the PR girl begs Gordo to come back and at least go through how the advertising works. Taking a deep breath Gordo does and is met with the same offer from Manchester’s Alpha Male restaurateur, Big T. 

Write a great review and you may get some advertising spend is the offer again. Gordo explains that scored reviews on Confidential are always impartial, as the writer finds on the review visit. Gordo politely declines the fabulous offer and leaves.  

Lost in time interior

 

Lost in time interior

Ten months later, Gordo is told that the restaurant has won a place in the Top 100 restaurants in the UK. Blimey. Prepared to eat humble pie, or, more importantly, Betty’s hot pot that Big T was saying was the best in the UK, Gordo decides to have lunch last Saturday. 

Walking down the stairs, Gordo is once again struck by the odd feeling to this place. Like its been built by people more used to building film sets at Granada, or a small family builder has got stuck in - on a budget. The lighting, all bare bulbs with no shades, is stark, allowing no softness and resulting in harsh shadows. 

The tables are laid out bare, with cheaply printed menus and, as it’s Christmas, cheap crackers. About 50% full on the second to last Saturday before the big day, half the clientele were wearing paper hats. The other half looked like lost sheep, wondering if they had walked into one of those movies where, having been lulled into a false sense of security, zombies suddenly burst from the wooden panels of the walls to beat the living shit out of everyone. 

All of them were wondering what time Fizz would come out of the kitchen, having cooked their lunch personally, so she could then spend hours giggling with them at their tables.  

Mushrooms on salad mountain

 

Mushrooms on salad mountain

Gordo looked through the menus. The inevitable ‘Turkey dinner’ was there. This fixed price deal was not what Gordo expected nor wanted from a restaurant in the top 100 in the UK. Asking for an a la carte menu, Gordo scanned it. It looked hugely limited, the kind of menu thrown together when Gordo used to work in The Legh Arms in Prestbury, forty years ago. Every time the chef buggered off on a bender the crap table d’hote short menu came out.

In this case the a la carte asked for by Gordo was called ‘Annies Favourites’. It has three starters, five main courses and two puddings. It looked boring in the extreme. Soup (vegetable), chicken liver pate, mushrooms for starters. Oh dear. 

Mushrooms on toast (£6.25) for fatty. He likes to make his own these days, as the varieties available, even in the local Tesco, are pretty fantastic. It would be interesting to get a lesson from a top 100 chef. Would he go for a mixture of shitake, dried morels, oyster and plain buttons? Would he use a little fresh tarragon? Start the process with Normandy unsalted butter, splash of white wine, and then finish with crème fraiche and a squeeze of lemon juice? 

What arrived took Gordo back thirty years. On top of an infantile mound of salad leaves were two thick slices of supermarket white bread, toasted. On top, fried plain old button mushrooms, which had been pan-fried. Then something happened that produced a sparse cream sauce of nothingness. There was a dribble of vinaigrette around the plate, which the chef had cleverly made to taste exactly like one of Paul Newman’s in bottles that you can buy at Sainsbury’s. There’s one just around the corner, as it happens. 

Terrible. 

Moving on to the main course. Gordo hadn’t fancied the cottage pie. Fish and chips were a no, as well as vegetable stew. They are really pushing the boat out for the veggies. Annies burger, or sirloin steak. 

Sirloin steak (£16.95) then. The steak came with fried mushrooms and onions, which Gordo had missed on the menu description. They were the same mushrooms as before, the cheapest variety on offer with a few onions thrown in, not quite cooked through. There was a slice of warm tomato, the bottom bit. The chips, again, had been cleverly made to resemble one of McCain’s catering chunky chips; a very popular brand, it needs to be said.  

Mushrooms on meat mountain

 

Mushrooms on meat mountain

The steak was pan fried, small and chewy with all those fibers still there from a beast that has not been hung for long enough. Freezing has the same effect. Within three hundred meters of this place, there are six restaurants that go to huge lengths to serve the best beef available, hung for weeks and cooked on Josper grills at 400 degrees centigrade to produce some of the best steaks in the UK. One group even has its own herds. 

By this time Gordo was beginning to get depressed. How do people accept these standards in today? 

Gordo was offered a choice of sauces. He chose the Diane sauce. This came in a little pot on the side and was just like The Fat One’s first attempt at gravy when he forgot to pour off the fat. It was horrible. Weirdly, dipping one of those fat chips in it benefited both of them. 

Then the pudding. Jam Roly Poly (£5.95). With Custard. Gordo stared at it. The slice of roly poly, looking dry, with far too little jam, had a strawberry sat on top. A big fat out-of-season strawberry, sliced in half, tasteless. The only reason it could be there was to take the diner’s mind off the dryness sat underneath. The custard rescued the dryness but there was little flavour. It was a poor effort. Yet once again, Gordo could not have told the difference between the supermarket custard (are they called ‘Taste the Difference’ round the corner in Sainsbury’s?) and this one. Yellow nothingness. 

Simplicity sometimes isn't a virtue

 

Simplicity sometimes isn't a virtue

This food is shocking, boring, below average. It’s the kind of food you would expect at Butlins. 

The wine? As with all poor wine lists, most of the years aren’t recorded, allowing management to have greater stock choice, with the benefit of not having to work to hard when ordering. Don’t expect well-priced nectar. The Amalti del Vino Primitivo isn’t bad mind you and at £23 pretty manageable.

And service? Superb. Attentive, pleasant and enthusiastic. And lots of them. Seven were in the room at the same when Gordo visited, serving about thirty punters. Maybe Big T was anticipating full houses. He doesn’t seem to be getting them on Saturdays mind you, whilst his competitors are rammed with the smart crowd, those that like beer, along with a bar. 

Finally Gordo checks this top 100 malarkey. Ah. It’s the Toptable top 100, the one that has been accused of not vetting the punters doing the voting. Apparently, if you want, you can sit there every night putting in glowing 5* reviews, pretending to be a normal punter. That’s a bit naughty isn’t it? 

The Big T told Gordo that he didn’t believe groups like Piccolinos, RBG, Grill on the Alley had a clue and he was going to show them the way forward. 

It’s a year later, and he still has Gordo baffled with those tactics. 

As to Mr McAlpine's quote on The Ivy? The current owner of the latter place, Richard Caring, would laugh his bollocks off. Or sue.

You can follow Gordo on Twitter here @gordomanchester

ALL SCORED CONFIDENTIAL REVIEWS ARE IMPARTIAL AND PAID FOR BY THE MAGAZINE. 

Annies, 5 Old Bank Street, City centre, 0161 839 4423. 

Rating: 10/20 (please read the scoring system in the box below, venues are rated against the best examples of their kind) 

Food:  3/10 (mushrooms 3, steak 2, roly poly 4)
Service: 4.5/5
Ambience: 2.5/5

PLEASE NOTE: Venues are rated against the best examples of their kind: fine dining against the best fine dining, cafes against the best cafes. Following on from this the scores represent: 1-5 saw your leg off and eat it, 6-9 get a DVD, 10-11 if you must, 12-13 if you’re passing,14-15 worth a trip,16-17 very good, 17-18 exceptional, 19 pure quality, 20 perfect. More than 20, we get carried away.

Like what you see? Enter your email to sign up for our newsletters which are chock-a-block with more great reviews, news, deals and savings.

98 comments so far, continue the conversation, write a comment.

PiemanDecember 17th 2013.

Ha! Love it. No sitting or standing at the bar would have me leaving befor even checking the menu. Non of the photos, food or interior looked appealing at all. Love 'Big T's' bullyboy tactic though ha! Always going to be a winner

Jonathan MoranDecember 17th 2013.

I have eaten there a few times and think both the food and service was fantastic and worthy of it's award.

10 Responses: Reply To This...
AnonymousDecember 17th 2013.

seriously?

Jonathan MoranDecember 17th 2013.

Yes. In my experience it was great.

Lamec RaiseDecember 17th 2013.

I love how mouthy Jonathan Moran has blown all credibility in just one sentence. Nobody can believe a word he says on these pages again.

Jonathan MoranDecember 17th 2013.

Well seeing their reviews on trip advisor and number of likes on social networking sites I'd suggest I'm not in the minority....

Lamec RaiseDecember 17th 2013.

Really, TripAdvisor? Decent for hotels absolutely hopeless for restaurants

two fingersDecember 17th 2013.

Jonathan, how naive can you be? Have a look at the comments on TopTable; if the five star write ups aren't the managements I will shag a black cab. If that bird Carolyn down the page isn't a member of the family or staff, that'll be a surprise as well.

AnonymousDecember 17th 2013.

I do work in the restaurant. I won't comment on the food etc as i'm clearly biased. However, I do know that the management did not write the reviews. A they don't have time they've got a business to run, B nobody reads them anyway and C I don't think they knew there were reviews on there until they won the award !

AnonymousDecember 17th 2013.

Sorry it's rank and it just survives because of coronation street actress..stick to what you know love (jenny)

AnonymousDecember 18th 2013.

Jonathan, please can you describe what you ate and how you found it? Please can you explain the photos above? Did Gordo fake them? I'm far from his biggest fan as well and thought the review was a bit of s titch-up...but then I saw the photos. Hard to argue with that. Or with the fact that more people than I have ever seen have jumped into comments to agree that it's terrible.

Jonathan MoranDecember 18th 2013.

Where did I suggest this was a "stitch up" sunshine? I merely stated in my experience it was good.

AnonymousDecember 17th 2013.

Top Table...doing for restaurants what TripAdvisor has done for hotels, i.e. bugger all to put proper controls in place to check that reviews are genuine. Allegedly.

SunloverDecember 17th 2013.

Had our work Christmas meal here - those who had pre-ordered turkey had a reasonable meal, turkey with all the trimmings, sprouts, parsnips, roast potatoes, carrots etc. Those of us who had ordered the duck got a duck leg on a tiny bed of red cabbage with a smear of orange sauce next to it. No other vegetables! The turkey people were served long before we were but us 'duck people' finished sooner. Resisted temptation to get a kebab on the way home.

SquirrelitoDecember 17th 2013.

bit of a self-fulfilling prophecy for old Tom there

RobbsyDecember 17th 2013.

Oh that decor! Even Smithills Coaching House in the 70s was better than that... I wonder if you are offered a glass of orange juice as a starter? For Manchester city centre in 2013 its an embarrassment!

MeDecember 17th 2013.

Hahahahaha, this place is awful, would rather eat at Moon Under Water!

1 Response: Reply To This...
AnonymousDecember 17th 2013.

^^This

AnonymousDecember 17th 2013.

For once I agree with Gordo, at least he is upfront about what is expected when it comes to advertising agreements! You need them as much as they need you.

AnonymousDecember 17th 2013.

Dined here just under a year ago and I have to say , this review is spot on. The service was fantastic but the food was really poor. And expensive.

AnonymousDecember 17th 2013.

pathetic that they showed attitude then attempted to bribe you and serve shit food, what a joke of a restaurant.

AnonymousDecember 17th 2013.

This review is indeed spot on. Visited here 3 weeks ago. Gordo, you've managed one better though; we asked for the a la carte menu and were told it was Christmas menu or nowt.

JimtoDecember 17th 2013.

The 'food' in the main photo looks f***ing disgusting! Where's the prawn cocktail and the blue nun?

AnonymousDecember 17th 2013.

£16.95 for that steak!? Holy hell! You can tell by looking at how cheap it is. I had always fancied this place but will avoid now

Carolyn BovierDecember 17th 2013.

Laughable. Gordo comes across as arrogant and ignorant. I assume this isn't a real person it's a construct and we're not meant to take him seriously. The good news for Annies is that they have excellent service but Gordo wasn't struck on the food. I might take notice of that if he hadn't come over as someone on a mad rant with a grudge against the owner's dad (bizzarre). Is he jealous of his OBE because you don't get one for bad writing and spelling mistakes or bankrupting your business. Gordo needs to check his facts and if anything this makes me want to go and try the place. Sounds like it's about time someone gave as good as they got to this man and Man Con. Team Mr T !!

10 Responses: Reply To This...
Jonathan MoranDecember 17th 2013.

exactly......sounds like sour grapes as they did not advertise!

Mark GarnerDecember 17th 2013.

Oh Jonathan, don't go there. Ms Bovier is entitled to her opinion, I might not agree with her but I will fight to ensure she gets her say as long as she is not overly personal. You are different. Just look at the pictures. And don't start that crap about advertising or I will cut you off from the site full stop.

anonymousDecember 17th 2013.

Carolyn, the food is shocking. Gordo just tells it as he sees it. It sounds like Tom is an utter prat if he said those things and Iwould tend to believe Gordo. Tom can sue if he didn't say them.

Carolyn BovierDecember 17th 2013.

Thanks Gordo for taking it in good part. Anon - I would hope that a man of Tom's calibre has more sense than to take this seriously or to waste his time suing, flipping heck he'd seriously be in need of a life !

Jonathan MoranDecember 17th 2013.

I can only judge on my meal there which I enjoyed....Sounds to me like you met your match in meeting a man as smug belligerent as yourself and did not like it! Maybe it'll make you think about how you treat people.

MeDecember 17th 2013.

Haha, she doesnt mind shit food as long as the service is good... go waste your money.

AnonymousDecember 17th 2013.

Anon you need to meet Tom and Gordo and then decide who is a prat lol x

Mark GarnerDecember 17th 2013.

Jonathan, you don't know me, we have never met and you have been warned about your personal attacks. Also, you were the person that pushed Jonathan and I to re-engineer our rant policy. One more personal attack and I will deal with you with that policy.

AnonymousDecember 17th 2013.

Caroline love you probably think its on par with maximes in France when really I'd rather eat in Antonio's on Piccadilly approach or the rancid koffe pot on Stevenson square...poor service rank food surviving on the back of an "actor" ...wow you lot fall for anything lol

rinkydinkDecember 17th 2013.

What a nice relaxing read this thread is...

JenDecember 17th 2013.

i couldn't agree more. i wrote a similar review on trip advisor shortly after it opened and had a very sharp response from the management. It has delusions of grandeur and unfortunately not the expertise or taste to pull it off.

2 Responses: Reply To This...
AnonymousDecember 17th 2013.

Just looked on trip advisor. Can't see any replies from the management at all. Could be a nice gesture to reply to the reviews. but think you've mixed them up with someone else....?

AnonymousDecember 17th 2013.

I also went on trip advisor the management are both deluded and think mancunians are either stupid or have no taste ....both on wrong accounts and I also received some self important bile about "what do I know "...well sir all I can say is that I have dined in better greasy spoons and hot dog stands than in that place

AnonymousDecember 17th 2013.

mmmmmmmmm

AnonymousDecember 17th 2013.

All getting a bit Bitchy now and a bit Personal Carolyn, Bankrupt??? Nothing to do with review. xx

1 Response: Reply To This...
Carolyn BovierDecember 17th 2013.

No you're right there, but the review seemed personal and bitchy ..... Comments about Mr McAlpine are nothing to do with the food?

AnonymousDecember 17th 2013.

Spot on reivew, the place is as appalling as the acting skills of is incredibly annoying owner.

Karen PrendergastDecember 17th 2013.

Hmmmm, we went and it was OK. When I took my daughter as a treat it was a real disappointment, I remember our order took 45 minutes to arrive. I didn't say anything though. The worst experience was my the one my mum and her friends had, acknowledged by the owner (dad) with a promise to serve a lunch to their group in the company of Fizz by way of an apology.....a date was arranged and shortly after cancelled by the management, due to Fizz having a cold. Reassurance that a further date would be rearranged immediately.........#stillwaiting

AnonymousDecember 17th 2013.

I visited Annies along with 11 friends 6 weeks ago. Everybody enjoyed the evening and each person was happy with their meal. The staff were friendly and attentive. One last thing, whats wrong with bottled beer?

AnonymousDecember 17th 2013.

I have to say it does seem true that those who advertise get good reviews and those who don't get trashed? Strange for Gordo to be the one to bring it to our attention but it's a funny old world. Doesn't bother me, nothing in life is as simple as it looks but I'm told my my brother who has a cafe in Hale that they charge about £2000 a month for basic advertising so a new business like his would struggle

1 Response: Reply To This...
John CoxDecember 19th 2013.

EDITORIAL COMMENT: This rant has been removed. A month or so ago we published a new comment policy to stop idiot ranters such as the author of this one. www.manchesterconfidential.co.uk/…/Rant-And-Comment-Policy-Manchester-Confidential…

AnonymousDecember 17th 2013.

Some of that review is fair comment but I think the beer at the bar thing is off point. It's a restaurant not a pub !!!

AnonymousDecember 17th 2013.

Its crap - end of.

1 Response: Reply To This...
AnonymousDecember 17th 2013.

IMHO

AliciaDecember 17th 2013.

Sounds like jealousy because jenny is a famous actress and everyone wants to meet her and be as successful as her

2 Responses: Reply To This...
Louise WatsonDecember 17th 2013.

Really....?

MeDecember 18th 2013.

Is Alicia 10 years old?

AnonymousDecember 17th 2013.

If writing an impartial review is so important how is it that of all the possible candidates Gordo was best placed? Was the food as bitter as the review Gordo. 4/20.

LukewarmdogDecember 17th 2013.

Sounds like you are her

Paul CarterDecember 17th 2013.

In my opinion whether they advertise or not isn't reflected in the reviews given on here. All the best restaurants in Greater Manchester - Ramsons, Aumbry, Sanmini, Simon Rogan, Australisia, to name but a few - get good reviews because they are great places to eat. Now if your restaurant got a good review on here it would make sense to place an advertisement. You would want to draw people to the advert/offer and hope they look up the review in the process. Alternatively a really bad review would put any restaurant off advertising for fear potential diners would be drawn to the review. So it may seem to some on here that the reviews are led by the adverts but I very much expect the opposite is the case.

3 Responses: Reply To This...
MaggieDecember 18th 2013.

Also, Salvi's always gets a good review here, yet they don't advertise......maybe they get good reviews cos the food is good....and not a bribe/ads revenue in sight

AliciaDecember 18th 2013.

Does anyone have an examples of restaurants who do advertise and get a bad review despite paying Man con thousands? It wouldn't make sense for Man Con to do that it'd be bad business. I think perhaps it's a bad business model to advertise and also review - incompatible

Charlie ButterworthDecember 18th 2013.

Alicia they did a critical review of Artisan not so long ago and Living Ventures advertise. www.manchesterconfidential.co.uk/…/ArtisanRestaurant-Spinningfields-Reviewed…

Poster BoyDecember 17th 2013.

Provincial.

AnonymousDecember 17th 2013.

cc

AnonymousDecember 17th 2013.

I totally agree I don't know who these people who run the place think they are I arrived with friends on Saturday and was then asked to leave as they had around "80" people coming I was both embarrassed and really annoyed ...the place was dead jenny love if this is how you treat your fellow mancunians your in for a really nasty shock when we desert you and bad mouth you !...suffice to say I will never be going again and put all my efforts into deterring others too! Well done Gordo Hades Manchester

1 Response: Reply To This...
Louise WatsonDecember 17th 2013.

Totally agree..

AnonymousDecember 17th 2013.

Forget it!!!..was booked in for Friday. We will most certainly be giving Annie's a big miss. Shameful cocky, arrogance in the restaurant trade gets you no where fast. Big shame they don't pride themselves with good customer service.I'm looking for excellent customer service & food. Think we'll dine at The Room instead...

1 Response: Reply To This...
GordoDecember 17th 2013.

Room is cooking out of its skin at the mo

AnonymousDecember 17th 2013.

I have say, totally agree with the Gordo review. The place is like cheap nasty pub, up its own backside, staff are amateur and so is the food. It won't be around long so we won't have to worry about stumbling in there unwittingly in the future....as I certainly won't make the effort to go again!

Louise WatsonDecember 17th 2013.

Most certainly will not be visiting this establishment, before I'd even read Gordo's review, friends and Corrie lovers had said the food is absolutely overpriced crap.. "You can't make a silk purse out of a sows ear" so the saying goes..

1 Response: Reply To This...
rinkydinkDecember 17th 2013.

It looks like they've tried to make a steak out of one, above!

AnonymousDecember 17th 2013.

No great surprise this on many levels. Heard similar things about both the food and Mr McAlpine

Louise WatsonDecember 17th 2013.

Oh and by the way I do enjoy reading Gordo's reviews, which tend to give me the nudge to visit so said restaurants.. And I'll add he's nearly always spot on.. Sounds like sour grapes from Mr T..

AnonymousDecember 17th 2013.

V true. If you look into it it's not his business at all it belongs to his daughters and her fella. Why blame him for protecting his daughter. The poor bloke has enough on his plate !

AnonymousDecember 18th 2013.

Oh Manchester, Manchester, Manchester! This saddens me to see this kind of place open in 2013. Especially after a stellar year for the Manchester restaurant scene. I work in the industry (now in London) but still keep a close eye on all things Manc. Gordo is absolutely right. How does the ever-more discerning diner accept these standards these days? Smacks of a place run by total amateurs who are absolutely clueless when it comes to running a restaurant. Vote with your feet fellow Mancs and stay away!

1 Response: Reply To This...
MaggieDecember 18th 2013.

Are you on Eastenders now...just asking

TanyaDecember 18th 2013.

So interesting how much emotion this has invoked....maybe people have been waiting....or bursting to tell the truth! I am also NOT going unless a total revamp....or freebie for assessment!

Richard AthertonDecember 18th 2013.

BANG! Goes the nail in their coffin. My fav review of the year Gordo! Bravo Fat One! Almost beats your performance on Come Dine With Me. Genius. Pls don't take Jonathan the Moran and Anon off the site - their bitter tones are nearly as entertaining as you accept they are quite predictable after all this time.

ShybaldbuddhistDecember 18th 2013.

That steak looks rank! This place isn't on my places to eat at after seeing that alone.

AnonymousDecember 18th 2013.

I don't understand why people are so bothered about this. It's Gordo's job to write reviews but why the rest of the comments and such strong feeling. Is Fiz that bad? Dies she deserve this ? It can only be the corrie thing

AnonymousDecember 18th 2013.

By all means 'get stuck in' if the place is not up to standard, but my overriding feeling is that review doesn't come across as impartial. Disappointing as I rate Gordo's reviews...

pollolocoDecember 18th 2013.

I've just heard that Annie's has been shortlisted in Cheshire Life's "Best Manchester Restaurant category" :)

IanDecember 18th 2013.

We ate there when it first opened and never went back. I'm not one for bashing a place but am surprised it is still going. It is too "hidden" and the comments about the design of the place are spot on. it's just weird! (and not in a good way) We love to try new places and it is rare for us not to go back. Sorry to say it feels like a "pet project" Like some of the shops in Prestbury....

IanDecember 18th 2013.

Have read tripadvisor reviews "beautifully decorated"!

MeDecember 18th 2013.

Lets face it, the only reason this place has any customers is fans wanting to meet Jenny McAlpine, these people dont care what it tastes like!!

AnonymousDecember 18th 2013.

It is a place that does not live up to the expectation it sets of itself. I think that is why it evokes so much of a response, if you are going to put yourself up alongside the great restaurants in Manchester, you need to be able to deliver the goods. Unfortunately the food, i.e the most important aspect of the whole experience, is poor. Yes the decor is very questionable, but i'm sure Mr Coopers, Almost Famous and many other "quirky" places don't have decor that appeals to everyone, but alot can be forgiven if the food is spot on.

AnonymousDecember 18th 2013.

Never been .... and won't been going after reading this!!!!

AnonymousDecember 18th 2013.

The photos are enough to put me off this place

Mr SmoothDecember 19th 2013.

And in other news, a statement from Annie's web site: "Annies is that special place you always want to find"

AnonymousDecember 19th 2013.

A restaurant with a menu that sets low standards, and food that fails to even meet those. It looks like it's actually got worse since I went there. The usual suspects can slate Gordo all they want, but on the look of that food they've served up, you couldn't pay me to go in the place again. Muck.

James SmithDecember 19th 2013.

Never been, never intended to, not bothered about the place and not persuaded to either way. And I'm sure the review is accurate, but you do get the feel of smacked arse bad review with Man Con whenever someone doesn't play by the Man Con advertising rules. It might not even be deliberate but it comes through.

1 Response: Reply To This...
Mark Garner The PublisherDecember 23rd 2013.

James, it's now ten years since Gordostarted his reviews. From then till now, we have managed to keep a distance between our scored reviews and advertisers. Currently, about 30% of our reviews advertise with us. Go figure. The same challenge applies as always. We will give £5000 to a charity of your choice if you can show that a paying advertiser has had his scored review influenced by the fact they are paying us. *yawn*

AnonymousDecember 20th 2013.

I think if Gordo was really out for some kind of revenge he would have witten the bad review but left out the anacdote about the owner. He's declared his interest and let the readers know of his past dealings, you cant do much more to be up front when giving an opinion can you.

tbboy87February 4th 2014.

Sorry, the food at Annies is shocking. As is the interior, the ambience and the . I whole heartedly agree with gordo. We ate there once, about 8 months ago. It was god awful. Tiny portions, lukewarm (we sent it back) and tasteless. No draft beer and the fridge clearly wasn't at temperature as the beer wasn't cold! I had to return there last week for a business meeting (not my idea and I didn't know until I arrived that's where we were going) thankfully we avoided food and just had a drink. Again, not chilled enough! I'd rather go to mcdonalds than eat there again.

AnonymousAugust 23rd 2014.

I agree fully with Gordo, butlins food type without a dought tacky cheap food, don't want to go into my experience as Gordos words were spelt it out, I would not give it the time of day, thanks Gordo

To post this comment, you need to login.Please complete your login information.
OR CREATE AN ACCOUNT HERE..
Or you can login using Facebook.

Latest Rants

Anonymous

Going Good Friay - can not wait

 Read more
Henry V

Oh dearie me, it's the spelling police. Get a life you tossers.

 Read more
Anonymous

I go to GOT Alley and GONY Street quite a bit. The Best of British steak (which changes each month)…

 Read more
Anonymous

Interesting point. I think when you have a quickly growing population and a changing city it is…

 Read more

Explore The Site

© Mark Garner t/a Confidential Direct 2017

Privacy | Careers | Website by: Planet Code | SEO by The eWord