Welcome to Manchester Confidential
Reset Password
The Confidential websites will be undergoing routine updates. This may cause the sites to go offline. We apologise in advance for any inconvenience.

You are here: Manchester ConfidentialEntertainment & SportMusic.

The Killers reviewed

Georgina Hague likes Flowers delivered to her home town

Written by . Published on March 10th 2009.


The Killers reviewed

When Mr Flowers and his band roll into town there are no excuses to stay in.After four great albums (some say that Sawdust and Day and Age aren’t their best but few die-hard fans would agree), The Killers have secured themselves a place as rock royalty. Their gigs sell out in minutes and extra dates are added within hours to satisfy the fans' demand.

Amidst the cavernous spaces of the MEN, the band began with ‘Human’, an odd choice as most bands normally save their latest material to the end, but The Killers seemed happy to mix it up. Brandon Flowers, a superb front man whipped the crowd into a frenzy and had the whole of the MEN Arena on their feet joining in.

Then it was ‘This Is Your Life’, a more subdued track to give the audience a breather before moving on to the crowd pleaser ‘Somebody Told Me’.

That’s how it went on: a role-call of classic Killer’s material one after the other, with not a weak song in earshot. Even in the damp accoustic of the MEN, where any finesse in music can drown, the band managed to display their full repertoire of talent, by in turn taking it slow, then blowing the roof off the building. There was a nice nod to the locals too with the Joy Division cover, ‘Shadowplay’. Meanwhile, ‘ A Dustland Fairytale’, looks like becoming another memorable gig anthem for band.

After twists and turns through, ‘Hot Fuss’, ‘Sam’s Town’, ‘Sawdust’ and ‘Day and Age’ the crowd were treated to the original Killers’ anthem, ‘Mr Brightside’. They wound up the main set with ‘All These Things That I've Done’ before an encore in which fans were treated to more Killers’ winners with songs such as ‘When You Were Young’.

There’s something satisfying about seeing stadium giants doing what they do best. The Killers are pure entertainment , it’s only right they come from Las Vegas. This was a great gig. I felt like I’d been taken on a rollercoast ride between their 80s and 90s influences and their contemporary twist on big sound indie rock and roll.

And to watch Brandon Flowers control the crowd like a ringmaster was simply astounding. I think I need a week to recover.

Like what you see? Enter your email to sign up for our newsletters which are chock-a-block with more great reviews, news, deals and savings.

15 comments so far, continue the conversation, write a comment.

castlefieldMarch 10th 2009.

The Killers are crap and anyone that likes them is either a stupid shop working moron, not as cool as me or probably just ugly, smelly and poor.

mMarch 10th 2009.

'The imposter'?! WOW how seriously do you take your self?

JaimeMarch 10th 2009.

Not the 1st time I have seen the boys rock ... FAB-U-LOUS - what a way to spend a cold and rainy Monday evening in Manchester! I was even more excited when Brandon looked right at me ( I was 6 deep, just to the left ... in case he is reading this!) ... he looked right at me!!!!!!

JennMarch 10th 2009.

Oh pipe down anonymous, good old fashioned pop star idolisation never hurt anyone (or are you a little bitter that Chesney never got back to you?) I'm now going to actively seek out a famous type upon which to develop a crush-beats working!

PeterMarch 10th 2009.

Great atmosphere and a great gig but the sound was absolutely terrible. Very poor where we were sitting row G block 110. Very booming and generally mushy. On some songs the vocals were very low down in the mix.

SullyMarch 10th 2009.

One word - AMAZING...!!!!

AnonymousMarch 10th 2009.

I really don't get the Killers...

QuokkaMarch 10th 2009.

I agree with Ralph. My 3rd time seeing them and it wasnt very spectacular. No soul or passion, just the same version of the songs as on the CDs. They are a good band, but not anything special.

Castlefield (the genuine one)March 10th 2009.

There goes the imposter again. Can imagine him siniggering like Beavis and Butthead. The Killers are cool unlike you.

CastlefieldMarch 10th 2009.

The imposter posing as 'M', it's long running thing. I think I know who it is.

RalphMarch 10th 2009.

Sorry to rain on everyone's parade but i was boooored last night. Ive seen the Killers 3 times and love them BUT last night just seemed like they were rattling through all their good tunes with no real passion. it was a distinctly average show, seen better, seen worse.

AnonymousMarch 10th 2009.

Looked right at you Jaime? WOW!

emma graceMarch 10th 2009.

Yes bitter boots, I was right at the front for Kings of Leon and I swear Caleb was singing to me, and me alone. Made my night...

mMarch 10th 2009.

Nothing to do with either of you mate, just think you should lighten up. 'The imposter' someone's just mucking around one a website not prentending to be the King of France. Don't rise to it.

AnonymousMarch 10th 2009.

Brandon has amazing stage presence and is sooooooo pretty, Caleb is just sexified and I am sure he has that lost look in his eyes because he hasn't met me yet!

To post this comment, you need to login.Please complete your login information.
OR CREATE AN ACCOUNT HERE..
Or you can login using Facebook.

Latest Rants

Heather Buchanan

link isn't working for some reason to play the music

 Read more
Heather Buchanan

don't be such a negative troll, post your face and name. There is absolutely such a thing where has…

 Read more
Beast is back

I managed to get tickets to this event and it was mesmeric. Never seen John before but it was a…

 Read more
Darren

Going to see John Grant at the Bridgewater Hall, cannot wait! Anyone unfamiliar with him have a…

 Read more

Explore The Site

© Mark Garner t/a Confidential Direct 2017

Privacy | Careers | Website by: Planet Code | SEO by The eWord