Welcome to Manchester Confidential
Reset Password
The Confidential websites will be undergoing routine updates. This may cause the sites to go offline. We apologise in advance for any inconvenience.

You are here: Manchester ConfidentialEntertainment & SportEvents & Listings.

North West smile Comedy Awards Announces Shortlist!

Published on October 14th 2005.

Johnny Vegas, Dave Spikey, David Threlfall and the entire cast of Early Doors are just some of the comedy personalities to appear in the shortlist of the North West smile Comedy Awards, which was announced at midnight.

Since the awards launched on 14th September the illustrious judging panel gathered in private to agree on a list of four contenders in each category.

To make the shortlist comedians had to demonstrate outstanding talent and consistent and memorable performances. Whilst some nominees are already household names, others are next generation stars about to step into the limelight such as Alan Carr - the campest stand-up in town - and two Perrier nominees, Chris Addison, the only political act in the shortlist and Jason Manford, aged 24.

The winners will be announced at a glittering awards ceremony, hosted by Bradley Walsh, on Friday 28th October 2005 at the Piccadilly Hotel in Manchester. Proceeds from the evening will be donated to the music therapy charity, Nordoff-Robbins, which hopes to establish its first music therapy centre outside of London in England’s North West.

The sell-out awards dinner will be the highlight of the Manchester smile Comedy Festival which showcases the quality and range of comedy in the UK and particularly the North West where more internationally recognised comedians per head of population come from.

A total of nine gongs are up for grabs and the winners will be decided by a judging panel including the infamous Don Ward, founder of The Comedy Store; Michelle Mullane, Gill Isles and Jon Mountague from the BBC; Mike Barnett from the MEN; Marissa Burgess from CityLife and Manchester Online; Ashley Boroda; Toby Hadoke from XS Malarkey and from Liverpool - Adam Franklin, founder of Laughter House, and Tom Hunter of Radio City and the Liverpool Comedy Trust.

The categories are as follows:-

Best Breakthrough in Comedy (sponsored by J W Lees) Keith Carter; John Warburton; Mike Wilkinson; Die Clatterschenkenfietermaus

Best Stand Up on the North West Circuit (sponsored by Holsten Pils) John Bishop; Alan Carr; Seymour Mace; Jason Manford

Best Touring Comedy Production/ShowDave Spikey; Rob Bryden; Mark Thomas; Stewart Lee

Best Comedic Performance on Film and TVEarly Doors (entire cast); Johnny Vegas (Ideal); David Threlfall (Shameless); Steve Edge (I’m with Stupid)

Best Comedic Writing (sponsored by Brabners Chaffe Street)Craig Cash & Phil Mealey (Early Doors); Unbroadcastable Radioshow; Danny Peake (I’m with Stupid); John Bishop (Happy Families)

Best Comedy Club (sponsored by Argent)The Comedy Store; Frog & Bucket; Laughter House; XS Malarkey

Best Comedy Content in a Radio ShowMichelle Mullane (Michelle around Midnight); Lee Mack (The Lee Mack Show); Chris Addison (The Ape that got Lucky); John Bishop (Happy Families)

The category of Best Comedic Performance in Soap (sponsored by Ringspun) has been made the ‘people’s choice’. Currently last year’s winner Alex Carter, who plays Lee Hunter in Hollyoaks, is out in front, closely followed by Sam Ashton, who plays Chesney Brown in Corrie. Public voting in this category can be made via the websites of headline sponsor, smile and media partners, Key 103 and Radio City as well as the official awards website click here for more.

Also in the line-up is the Les Dawson Award for Services to Comedy which was originally launched in 2003 as part of the Manchester Comedy Festival. The award will be presented by his widow, Tracy and their daughter Charlotte, who was a baby when her father died.

So who can predict this year’s winners? John Bishop – a winner from last year and nominated in no less than three categories for 2005 said: “Comedy awards are one thing, but I’d rather have a big egg-and-spoon race with winner takes all.”

Christine Petyt from Smile commented: “The awards reflect the growing profile of comedy. There are so many gifted comics coming through the ranks I’d be hard pushed to pick a shortlist, let alone a winner.”

But whoever the winners are, they are sure to raise a smile from the lips and a laugh from the belly...

Like what you see? Enter your email to sign up for our newsletters which are chock-a-block with more great reviews, news, deals and savings.

To post this comment, you need to login.Please complete your login information.
Or you can login using Facebook.

Latest Rants

Aadil Khan

Nice information and thanks for sharing this to us convertpdf2word.com… Here you will get more…

 Read more

I am an antique post authority and I now and then perused some new articles in the event that I…

 Read more

Depends on the arse.

 Read more

As usual mancon make no reference at all to the Irish Festival again .

 Read more

Explore The Site

© Mark Garner t/a Confidential Direct 2021

Privacy | Careers | Website by: Planet Code | SEO by The eWord